top of page

Baby Steps Reflection #2

Updated: Oct 28, 2018


My "Baby Steps" resource is well underway and I have created the first two sections of it including an activity developing an inspiration and an activity learning about modes and auditioning different modal keys. Both activities look at Bree van Reyk's work "Light for the First Time" and build on her compositional process.


Getting students to add a personal vision for their work through choosing a theme or specific inspiration will help them to have a specific motivation for their work. Showing them examples of other works that are based on experiences, events and objects helps them to see the direct relation to music in a wider sense as well as giving them the feeling that the activity is achievable for them.

Fun fact; when I first added works I realised that all of the ones that first came into my head were ones related to water! I am not sure what that says about my musical listening or if they stick in my head because of their effectiveness... either way I added some more. Included one about viewing city lights from an aeroplane (City Lights a Mile Up - Stuart Greenbaum), a piece reflecting on the events of Pearl Harbour (1941) (At Dawn they slept - Jay Bocook) and another about the Bali sunrise (Bali Moods No. 1 - Anne Boyd).


The second activity uses an interactive website that explores modes (Ableton.com). By encouraging students to explore the different sounds using the interactive keyboard and read the information provided they can make a choice about the tonality of their piece especially with their inspiration in mind.


Composition in Music Education Baby Steps Task - Reflection 2

5 views
bottom of page