top of page

Composition Reflection #2

Today I developed my melodic material - focusing on the main melodic theme that will be explored throughout the piece. In case you haven't read my previous blog, the original melodic material was chosen through a chance composition activity using a dice. This is what I came up with:


Today I started to develop it by adding on to this material.

As this piece is aiming to depict a rumour spreading, I want the melody to sound as though it is being picked up by someone else and new material is added that varies slightly from the original material.

This is what I have come up with:


The pick up to the 3rd bar of this melodic idea represents the idea of someone picking up the rumour and adding their own perspective or information to it and as a result, the phrase ends slightly differently from the original.

3 views
bottom of page