top of page

Composition Reflection #3

Today I developed my melodic material and added some accompaniment in the violins.


At the start I have tried to create a sense of space and an unsteadiness. The first 3 bars creates a tense background by only using 2 notes and not really going anywhere.

The two notes used are the first two notes of the melody that I developed yesterday (see previous post). I would like to think of this small motif as the whispers behind a rumour. Once the real melody starts, the tone has already been set and the rumour has been created.

Here is a picture of the very start:


I really like the space that I have included as it makes the listener think about what they have heard and I think it does relate to my chosen theme.


The piece continues just with the melody and the tense quaver accompaniment. At bar 14, a new idea is introduced but it is still similar to the original quaver pattern. It is made of semiquavers which adds to the movement of the piece but still maintains the feeling of uncertainty.

Bar 14:











I also worked on combining these accompaniment parts with my melody and gradually building up the start of my piece.


Here is a picture of the first draft: (You can view a PDF version here)



2 views
bottom of page