top of page

Composition Reflection #4

I have finally finished the first section of my composition!


Section A is the section that I discussed in my previous reflection. It includes my original melodic idea and creates the tense mood, introduces the rumour and begins to develop it.


Some things that I really like about it include:

  • The way the melody is the foundation for the whole section - even the accompaniment parts are developed from it.

  • That the section is relatively simple. I have been making the most out of little ideas and sharing them between different instruments. They are repeated and doubled in different octaves and move between the three parts.

For example, in the excerpt below you can see how the melody is gaining momentum through the repetition in various voices and with slight differences in range (bars 15 & 16 flute and violin 1). The accompaniment parts are also being developed (bars 14 in violin 2 & bars 17-19 in flute and violin 2).



Overall, the section is building - which relates to my theme.


I think now I need to add some new ideas and find a way to continue to build without getting too repetitive.


Have a look at my Draft B here

5 views
bottom of page