top of page

Composition Reflection #5

Section B is officially coming together.

After working on section A yesterday I was really excited to keep going today and create some new material.

I still want to make it similar to the original material, even if it is only in a small way, but I also want to really extend it as some rumours really get out of hand!!


So, section B introduces new rhythmic material and uses fragmented bits of melodic ideas from section A.

It is based on two contrasting rhythms and creates a syncopated feel.



The top pattern in the new material is very similar to the very opening of section A (picture bottom left) but changed slightly as an extra note (B) has been added at the end.

The second pattern also includes notes taken from the start but I have changed the order and created a groovy syncopated rhythm.


I really like how it sounds. It does look tricky but it is actually quite easy and very catchy!




I have also introduced a variation of the original melody in the 1st violin. It is a fragmented bit of the theme but I think it works well against the two rhythmic patterns in the flute and violin 2.


The transition between section A and B was a challenge. I wanted to keep building towards the new material rather than lose the momentum and so I have included a semiquaver pattern in the violin 2 as well as a long ascending chromatic scale that leads towards the introduction of the new rhythms.


Take a look at my Draft C here

3 views
bottom of page