top of page

Composition Reflection #6

My composition is developing really quickly! I have surprised myself and I am really enjoying the process. Today I got a lot done and with the addition of a final section (C) I have now developed a rough version of the whole piece.


I have three clear sections:

A - Original theme

B - Syncopated section - new ideas

C - Development of both sections (sort of a coda)


I really like the material in sections A and B and so I decided to merge ideas from the two together in section C especially as the best and most complex rumours are hectic and full or twisted ideas.


The first idea that I added was the flute line which takes material from the original melody but moves through it in an ascending pattern rather than descending. This allows the piece to explore a higher range and really emphasises the tension in the piece.

I also altered the quaver pattern seen in the violin 2 part so it changes which note it starts on. The violin 1 part is similar to the original quaver pattern as well but I just changed the rhythm to create variety and contrast underneath the other two parts.


At bar 55 I re-introduced the melody back into the chaos. As all of the new material has been derived from the original melodic content, it works really well and the piece is morphing into a hectic (but well-thought-out) mess!


I really like the work so far, but I know that there are still a few things that I think I could do better, especially the transitions.

Check out my first complete version of my piece here

3 views
bottom of page