top of page

Composition Reflection #7

Today I had a tutorial with my lecturer at the SCM on my composition. I showed him my draft (D which you can find here) and he gave me some tips on improving it. Some of the things we discussed were:

  • Using a different ending - instead of slowing down it may be better to continue increasing the tension and ending on a high note.

  • Working on the transition between Section A and Section B as the chromatic scales are not a great addition - they give the impression that you have run out of ideas

  • Being more careful with the dynamics - it isn't very good to have one instrument playing forte and one piano at the same time.

  • Thinking about the practicality of my composition - where will the flute player take a breath in section C?

  • Is there a better way to notate the rhythms in Section C? - possibly stems over rests - will help with the reading of the rhythms.

Take a look at my new draft (E) here

1 view
bottom of page