top of page

Mixed Bag Arrangement #3

Updated: Oct 5, 2018


Today I developed the various parts in my arrangement of Divenire by Ludovico Einaudi. In my first reflection for this task I discussed the importance of clear parts for melody, harmony, bass and percussion. Although the original composition doesn't include any percussion, I think that it is important to include these instruments for the purpose of a classroom activity. For this reason I have added three percussion lines for - Shakers, Djembe and Claves. All three parts are based on an ostinato in 6/8 time and are of varying levels in terms of difficulty.


These percussion ostinatos support the compound feel of the melody while also create a thicker texture, emphasising the syncopation. They add value to the arrangement and would engage students regardless of their skill level or previous experience. They would also provide key ideas regarding duration and compositional devices to discuss as a class.


I also developed the harmonic material in my arrangement through the addition of a second and more simple 'version' of the Melody and Harmony parts. This is to cater for students of varying abilities and to ensure that all the material is accessible to potential students.

As a result there are now 8 parts: Melody, Harmony, Melody 2, Harmony 2, Bordun (Bass), Shakers, Djembe and Claves.




MUED3603 Mixed Bag Arrangements Task

11 views
bottom of page