top of page

Mixed Bag Arrangement #4

Updated: Oct 11, 2018


Today in the Composition in Music Education class at the SCM I workshopped my arrangement and tested my completed draft. Overall, I was very happy with the arrangement but here are a few things that I noticed during the workshop and things that I need to address further.

  • Use System text in Sibelius for things like Section titles because then it will automatically show up on every part.

  • Even though this piece works well with the harmonies and arpeggiated patterns and I don't really want standard chords, it is still useful to include the chord Name/symbol so that they are an option.

  • My arrangement should include dynamics and articulation

  • The Trombone parts need to be checked and made easier in some sections - specifically the Harmony part

  • The Cello part needs to stay within the stave (it does mostly except for one or two notes).

  • The Djembe (Drum) part should be written on one line not 3 so it translates to any type of drum.

  • The graphic notation worked really well but may need to be scaffolded by the teacher.

  • Scaffold Improvisation - include this on the score and in the notes to the teacher.

All these things are relatively simple things to fix and add and overall, it worked really well and it sounded great!


MUED3603 Mixed Bag Arrangements Task

9 views
bottom of page