top of page

Resource Reflection #4 (past halfway!!)

Today I completed the fourth week of the unit's resources (and I am excited to say that I am past halfway!).

This week of the unit focuses on the baby steps to help the students start their mandatory composition:

1. Students brainstorm for their composition and create a mind map using an interactive website.

I created an example mind map:

2. Storyboard/outline of composition - students will add to this throughout the year and develop their plan

I created a template for students to use. I need to acknowledge Jim Coyle as I have based this resource off a resource he showed us in a lecture at uni on composition. I found it really helpful to start mapping out the whole of the piece and that's why I wanted to include it in this unit.


3. The third step is the experimentation and improvisation on instruments to start creating small melodic ideas. Students then add to their storyboard specific details about them including graphic notation or explanations.


4. (The final step) students will notate their melodic ideas and try to create a melodic line or a theme to be used in their composition. Students will then submit a reflection on their progress and on the learning experience.


bottom of page