top of page

Task 2 has begun - Choosing repertoire

Updated: Jun 2, 2019

The final task for "Teaching Senior Secondary Music" is underway!

I started the assignment today by selecting my my topic for the unit of study and looking up repertoire that I can use.

I have decided to create a unit based around how music can tell stories and create settings for experiences and events as that is one thing that I love about music, so why not make resources on a topic that interests me!!

I also think that having a theme or a scene is a great way to help students start a composition - specifically, their core composition for music 2. It is another way to help avoid blank page syndrome and it is something that can be scaffolded in a classroom environment, by combining analysis activities, group performances, group compositions/arrangements and individual work as well.

The works I have included in the repertoire list for the unit of work are:


Focus Work

“City Lights, a mile up” – Stuart Greenbaum (2013)

Additional Works


“Gallipoli” – Ross Edwards (2013)

“Light for the first time” – Bree van Reyk (2018)

“The Great Train Race” – Ian Clarke (1993)


“From Dawn to Dusk” – Graham Lloyd (2007)

"Tides of Ocean” – Matthew Orlovich (1998)

“Dark Hour” – Gordon Hamilton (2016)


At the moment I am not sure how i will use them all and maybe I have too many! However, I think they are all really interesting works as they cover a range of styles and instrumentations.

bottom of page